Home Current Affairs Fun Stuff Roll call Memory Lane Members Only! Donate Contact

- Theta Sigma Tau -
- a.k.a. Evans Hall -
The Crimson - 1940

[Click on image to see a larger version in a separate window]
Back row -
S. Farrill, J. Feeney, H. Steely, R. Vernes, E. Buckley, L. Williams, G. Jones, R. Jones, E. Perry, G. Heup, R. Lohr, V. Blum, W. Notbohm, H. Horsford, D. Price
Second row -
J. Thuermer, R. Heiden, D. Noffke, A. Falk, R. Gehrman, G. Biggs, L. Anderson, G. Condren, C. Juers, J. Carvers, J. Millane, K. Whitely, K. Berndt, V. Salter, R. Grefsheim, J. Tuttle, R. Jackson, A. Renner, E. Kate.
First row -
E. Gatzke, M. Lee, P. Biege, G. Pray, J. Townsend, S. Dubow, C. Wifler, F. Erdman, D. Kester

• Members of Evans according to classes are: 1940 - Earl Gatzke, Leigh Williams; 1941 - Philip Biege, Howard Gould, Robert Heiden, Gordon Heup, Jerome Townsend; 1942 - Lester Anderson, Kurt Berndt, James Cavers, Tom Erdman, Carl Gatzke, Griffith Jones, Edward Kate, Robert Lohr, John Millane, Garner Pray, James Tuttle, Charles Wifler; 1943 - Glenn Biggs, Vernon Blum, George Condren, Stuart Farrill, Jerome Feeney, Robert Gehrman, Roger Grefsheim, Howard Horsford, Robert Jackson, Robert Jones, Charles Juers, Maurice Lee, Dean Noffke, William Notbohm, Eugene Perry, David Price, August Renner, Victor Salter, Hobart Steely, John Thuermer, Raymond Vernes.

• In former years two things have been consistently associated with Theta Sigma Tau . . . the ramshackle Sanford building in which the fraternity was housed and the silver, slender standpipe, which seemed to guard the old building like a lone sentinel.

Ripon's year of change and progress have wiped away those long standing associations. The Sig Taus deserted the old building, destined to fall in a few months, and sought greener pastures in the central unit of the new dormitory which bears the name of Ripon's president.

How much greener the pastures proved to be is now a matter of record. Evans did not set the campus ablaze with any sensational moves . . but the house did maintain Theta Sigma Tau standards in all activities. From debating to basketball, the Evans boys were not had to find.

Earl Gatzke and Leigh Williams will be missed when new Prexy Jerome Townsend counts noses in the fall. Gatzke, well known for the part he played in bringing Ripon the Midwest basketball crown two years ago, piloted the house during 1939-40. Williams did credit to the fraternity in other fields.

The future is far from dark for the former Sanford boys. A large and capable freshman class will assume more responsibility. Present junior and sophomore classes will probably build toward the second Theta Sigma Tau millenium . . . which will come when the days of Gorn and Hamele are relived.

[Transcribed without correction from the 1940 Crimson, pages 58-59.]



Current Affairs Fun Stuff Roll Call Memory Lane Members Only Home
Latest News
Ch. Coin
Social Members
AA Officers
Family Trees

Our Creed

Site Map


©2007, 2017 Peter W. Lenz, All rights reserved.